FAMICOM to NES Converter

The look inside a Stack-Up NES cartridge

Finally I got my Stack-Up NES cartridge from eBay. And yes, there’s almost 100% chance that in these cartridges are Famicom converters inside. When Nintendo released Stack-Up and Gyromite for America, they were in hurry to sell american systems, so they didn’t manufactered independently NES cartridges, and put these 60 to 72 pin converters inside the NES cartridges. Some other games had these converters too, but the chance to find one is smaller than in Stack-Up cartridges.

FAMICOM to NES Converter

What you see on the left side is my finished homemade Famicom to Nes converter with the Ballon Fight Famicom cartridge inside. To protect the rom chip from dust and other things, I sticked a white plastic sleeve over the black converter. And without messing up my NES slot I put 2 solid cords on the left and right side, which are connected on the black converter. With them you can better take off the cartridge from the NES slot. A similar method, a strip holder was installed on the rare and now expensive Honey Bee adapter, which was a black market Famicom to NES converter released in China. You can still find Honey Bee adapters on eBay, but they are very expensive. The Stack-Up game I took off from the converter (sorry for destroying the case), pictured on top of the right side, I still can use on my Neofami console. I just have to put it in an empty Famicom cartridge and buy a Family Computer Robot or R.O.B. for NES, but that’ll be another exciting story.

12 thoughts on “FAMICOM to NES Converter

  1. I got my converter out of a wreking crew cartrige, i like your sleeve tho, minus the cords it looks real profesh.

  2. I heard that ALL copies of Stack-up have
    the converter, so I got 4 in total so far:
    3 to tamper with, and
    1 mint cartridge for my collection.
    Here’s the best advice I could ever give to anyone. If you need a 60-72 Pin Converter, buy Stack-up. And I’ll be happy to see working converters.

  3. Stack-up is my favorite game to make a converter out of. It’s like buying a Famicom to NES Converter Kit with:
    1 60-PIN Stack-up game
    1 60-72 PIN Board with double-sided 60-PIN connector with screw holes
    1 mod-friendly NES cartridge plastic casing.
    NOTE: This will make the game(s) you destroy more rare! Like Gyromite and other games with a converter, Stack-up will become more rare 1 by 1 when a copy is turned into a converter. The bad part is: ALL copies of Stack-up will always have a converter, so all US NES copies of Stack-up will be gone if ALL converters are found! And it’d lead Stack-up to becoming an EXTREMELY rare game. But I have a secret solution…

  4. Hi there! I simply wish to give you a huge thumbs up for the excellent information you have got here on
    this post. I will be coming back to your web site for more soon.

  5. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am
    impressed! Extremely useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot.
    I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you
    and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

